Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast
Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast
Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast
Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast
Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast

Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast

Regular price R199 R0 Unit price per

Content

This catch of the day features a box of Live Fresh Mussels.  These locally grown black mussels are great alternative to imported frozen mussels, as it supports local jobs and arrives at your door fresh and tasty.  You get the same great taste of the ocean with out taking a mussel from the sea.  We have carefully selected this for you to enjoy with your family or friends.

  • 1 x Box of live Black Mussels ( +_2.3-2.4kg per box)

This box is ideal for any mussel lover to add some variety into their week day cooking or on the braai. We have taken care of the mess, you look after the rest. Your mussels will arrive in a bag inside a polybox, to make it easy to use at home.  

Instructions:

What to do if you see an open mussel?

 If you picked them in the wild we would suggest discarding open ones, as you would not be sure on how long they have been dead for and what temperature fluctuations they have occurred.

 However for our farmed mussels, where you find one open, we refer to this as chilled, if the cold chain of supply has remained intact there should be no problem if steamed/cooked correctly. I always promote, listen to your nose. If it smells bad avoid/discard.  Mussels should smell like the ocean, light salty smell.

 Mussels are live/ still breathing when they are harvested and remain so for 3-4 days from harvest if handled correctly. When keeping them at home, remove from the plastic bag and allow them to breath, placing them in a bowl with a damp towel over them, do not let them be submerged in water. We check all mussels before dispatching them daily, and remove any that may look problematic/ broken shell/ open etc…

 Mussels are best with the “beard” removed, once pulling the beard out the mussel will die.  Remember to steam your mussels, do not submerge in a pot of water.  High temperature for a very short cooking time (4-7Minutes) is all you need.  Over cooking will lead them  to shrinking and only leaving a small film of meat against the shell.

 We suggest enjoying your mussels fresh.  However should something come up and you need to freeze them to use another day we suggest you lightly steam them first.

 A mussels “meat” never fills the entire void of the shell.  Around 30% of the volume in “meat”.  This however fluctuates due to seasons.  Winter months mussels are more plump with the colder waters.  In summer they thin out as they spawn.  Sometimes with spawning they can have an unfamiliar smell, simply rinse. 

http://fishwife.co.za/mussels-on-the-braai/


For easy recipes and more information on how to prepare the fish, please visit our partner site fishwife.co.za 

Notes/Special Requests:

When you check out there is a section for notes, here you can tell us if you have any special requests for the cutting of your fish.  This is also a great place to tell us if your door bell does not work or any other info you want to share with us to streamline getting you the freshest fish in town to your door quickly.

*please note the mussels are delivered with the beards on, as they come from the ocean.

Sustainability

Farm raised mussels.

http://wwfsassi.co.za/fish-detail/142/

Delivery:

  https://greenfish.co.za/pages/where-we-deliver

R65 same-day packaging & delivery fee

 CBD | Southern Suburbs | Houtbay | Platterkloof 

Delivery: Monday to Friday

  • Order before 11am and receive your delivery the same day.
  • Order after 11am and receive your delivery the following day.

     Deep South | Tableview, Blouberg, Melkbos | Durbanville 

    Delivery: Monday to Friday

    • Order before 3pm and receive your delivery the following day.
    • Order after 3pm and receive your delivery the next delivery run. (Mon - Fri).

       Stellenbosch | Somerset West | Franshoek | Paarl 

      Delivery: Tuesday to Friday

      • Order before 3pm and receive your delivery the following day.
      • Order after 3pm and receive your delivery the next delivery run. (Tue - Fri).

      We are working hard to extend our range. If you live outside our current delivery range but think there is significant demand in your area, please contact us.

      *Please note we do not deliver on Saturday, Sunday and Public holidays.

      *We endeavour for same day delivery where possible.

      Customer Reviews
      4.9 Based on 42 Reviews
      Write a Review Ask a Question
      • Reviews
      • Questions

      Thank you for submitting a review!

      Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

      Filter Reviews:
      HK
      09/01/2021
      Hannalize K.
      South Africa South Africa
      Freshest catch to the door and onto your plate. �

      So you wake up some random Tuesday morning. You have FRESH seafood in the mind. The kind of fresh where your fishing rod suddenly bends down from it's 45-degree angle to the water and the drag finally stops moving and buzzing. The kind of fresh where you forage for black mussels one early morning at low tide in Scarborough. This is the feeling, sea breeze smell and quality you get when you open the cooler box delivered to your door. Highly recommended, quality product. Dr Jozef Kriek III

      NH
      08/01/2021
      Narina H.
      South Africa South Africa
      Fresh Mussel Box

      Nice plump freshest mussels ever! Will order definitely again. Friendly and excellent service

      NV
      05/01/2021
      Nicola V.
      South Africa South Africa
      Super fresh for healthy, mid-week quick meal

      When they say "Live Box" they mean "Live Box". You know these mussels are fresh because they still respond when they arrive. If you don't want to use them immediately, just take out the packaging and place in a bowl in the fridge with a cold wet cloth over the bowl to keep them going. Mussels are super healthy to make, FAST and EASY!! This makes them perfect for mid-week meals. We love Jamie Oliver's Thai mussels. Give it a try!

      EB
      01/01/2021
      Evelin B.
      South Africa South Africa
      A fantastic meal to a terrible year

      Overall 5 stars. Quality, service, speed. Excellent. Very happy customer.

      Greenfish Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast Review
      PB
      06/12/2020
      Patrice B.
      South Africa South Africa
      Excellent from all aspects

      Great, fast service and top quality. Fresh, full, tasty!!! I’ll order again very soon!!

      Greenfish Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast Review
      SP
      30/10/2020
      Suzette P.
      South Africa South Africa
      Live Box/Black Mussels

      The mussels arrived perfectly packaged with ice. I cooked them last night and they tasted absolutely delicious. I will definitely order again.

      GM
      30/10/2020
      Gordon M.
      South Africa South Africa
      Great fish super fast

      The fish was really good

      IB
      29/10/2020
      Ingrid B.
      South Africa South Africa
      Moules marinieres

      Just delicious, the 2 of us ate them all at once

      FD
      22/10/2020
      Flip D.
      South Africa South Africa
      Delicious

      Everything from ordering to delivery and quality of product was awesome!

      Greenfish Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast Review
      GL
      19/10/2020
      glen l.
      South Africa South Africa
      disappointment

      the black mussels had no meat all empty,wasted my good white wine garlic and milk and butter,advised them and they offered to replace sent a video as proof cooked and uncooked had no meat

      22/10/2020
      Greenfish

      We are combining our responses to Glen's order. Response 1 from Ryan: Good Morning Glen. We delivered on Friday, speedily and effectively to make the surprise for you fiancé happen. We got your sms at 18h58 the following evening (Saturday) and responded immediately (after hours) that we would look into it on Monday. This morning, it was our highest priority and one of our staff members called you and offered a replacement, while we looked in to the matter. I myself also tried to call you to see how we can assist and help you further. On investigation and tracking the shipment I can find no fault. My assumption is a combination of events, mainly that we are going into summer and the mussels are leaner now as they spawn, combined with a possibility of cooking for too long, which can cause mussels meat to shrink (assumption as I have not been able to contact you on the phone). In light of this we have extended to replace on next harvest, and even an interim measure some stock to get you by. Im sure for all the other orders you have received from us this is definitely not the norm. Im sure with half a bottle of wine in the sauce it was amazing :) regards Ryan Message 2 from Glen: First batch no mussel meat due to spawn season,replaced and asked to check prior..dissmal or no meat at all pics videos sent..i was a loyal customer-arrogant owner..refunded my money although i would have rather resolved and got the product i wanted and for the next customer...was advised to find an alternate supplier,i would rather not buy here again,id prefer to go to a retailer.. Response 2 from Ryan: Good Morning Mr Lotz. Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on the phone this morning, although you did not want me to email you I feel its best to always have some course of paper trail of events. As discussed I am terrible sorry you have not had a pleasant experience with the mussels. It is not our intention to disappoint, however for the few times we have dropped the ball I and my team are always very pro active to give assistance and make sure that the customer does not feel unattended to and try rectify the situation. We are a small family run business and very hands on so know our products and every order that goes out. We have throughly investigated the matter, from farm, home testing and checking with other customers that received out of both batches that you got stock from. I cannot find fault with the stock you have received and will simply put it down to been unlucky. We have replaced the stock with a new batch , offered alternatives (the frozen half shell mussel) and stayed in constant communications with you, even on weekends and early mornings. As per your request kindly forward your banking details so we can refund you the R199.00 you are requesting. Please discard the mussels you are unhappy with. I trust this will close the matter, and sincerely hope you can find a supplier that can meet your mussel requirements. Thank you Regards Ryan

      B
      18/10/2020
      Brian
      South Africa South Africa
      Excellent mussels

      I purchased and had these delivered the same day, and they were great. Fresh, super tasty and convenient.

      GL
      16/10/2020
      glen l.
      South Africa South Africa
      quality

      awesome

      NB
      15/10/2020
      Nikki B.
      South Africa South Africa
      First class product

      Great thanks so much

      GE
      12/10/2020
      Gerald E.
      South Africa South Africa
      Fresh Muscles

      Fantastic fresh

      RG
      05/10/2020
      Rui G.
      South Africa South Africa
      AMAZING

      Hi Ryan, Thanks for the email, the service was great along with the Mussels . They were fresh and I was pleasantly surprised. We really enjoyed it and look forward to purchasing future seafood from you .

      EV
      27/09/2020
      ErIta V.
      South Africa South Africa
      Muscles

      Excellent Ordering again this week

      Greenfish Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast Review
      LP
      25/09/2020
      Louise P.
      South Africa South Africa
      Black mussels

      Beautifully fresh, and used the Mussel Pot recipe from fishwife !! Delicious. Thank you too for the efficient and prompt delivery . Definitely will order again !

      PK
      23/09/2020
      Phyllis K.
      South Africa South Africa
      Freshly on time

      Ordered the muscles at about 10 am they arrrived that afternoon. We had a wonderful family diner eating these sumptuous muscles enjoyed by granny, children and culinary adventurous grandchildren. Thank you Green Fish.

      MM
      20/09/2020
      Marilyn M.
      South Africa South Africa
      Mussels

      Fantastic. So fresh, clean and plump. Ordered more

      FA
      17/09/2020
      Fatgia A.
      South Africa South Africa
      Live mussels

      I received my live mussels within a few hours of ordering it. The mussels was deliciously fresh, plump and juicy. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      Greenfish Live box | Black Mussels (2.4kg) | Farmed on the West Coast Review